The mill was originally built in 1830 by Edward Ingledew of Gainsborough for Michael Hare as a five-sailed mill. Following a severe thunderstorm which blew off the cap and sails, it was repaired in 1892. The repairs were carried out by John Pocklington using a cap and eight sails from a windmill in Boston. The bricks from the Boston mill were recycled and used to build the mill house that stands at the front of the site.
Heckington mill ceased work in 1946 and deteriorated until it was purchased by Kesteven County Council in 1953 and made safe. The mill underwent restoration in 1986 and further major repairs were carried out in 2004 and is now in full working order.
The mill is now owned by Lincolnshire County Council, but is operated and run on a voluntary basis by Heckington Windmill Trust
A full history of the mill is available from the mill shop or buy online here
Heckington's Unique Windmills
Heckington is believed to be the only location in the UK (and probably the world!) where there have been windmills with 4, 5, 6, and 8 sails.
Our own Pocklington's mill was built with 5 sails and changed to 8 in 1892.
Mowbray's (or Mowberry's) Mill on Sleaford Road, Heckington had both 4 and 6 sails in its past. Today all that remains is the derelict tower.
Patron - Mr Toby Dennis, Lord Lieutenant of Lincolnshire
Registered Charity No: 1139207
Company Registration No: 07210264